Jason Bae in Concert

LECT presents Emerging Artist JASON BAE in his debut Auckland Town Hall Concert Chamber Recital.

"An imperturbable soloist…"  The New Zealand Herald

Tuesday, 25th September 2012

Chopin - Preludes Op.28
Bach/Busoni - Chaconne
Rachmaninov - Piano Sonata No.2 Op.36

"Superbly confident… with no fear at all… a masterly performance…"   The Dominion Post

Jason Bae was born in Daejeon, 1991, in South Korea where he began studying piano at the age of 5. He is currently in his Bachelor of Honours in piano performance at the University of Auckland in New Zealand under the tutelage of Ms. Rae de Lisle. In 2007-2011, he has attended the prestigious Aspen Music Festival and School under the tutelage of Ms. Ann Schein.

In 2008, Mr. Bae won 1st prize in the Bradshaw & Buono International Piano competition in New York, which gained him a performance at the Carnegie Hall Weill Recital Hall in May 2008. In the same year, he was awarded the New Zealand Young Performer of the Year. In 2009, he won 2nd prize at the Lev Vlassenko International Piano Competition in Brisbane, Australia, where he also received the prize for the best performance of a work by Chopin. In 2010 he won the University of Auckland Gala Concerto Competition, performing Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No. 1.

Mr. Bae was soloist with the 2010 New Zealand National Youth Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Mr. Rossen Milanov, performing Stravinsky’s Concerto for Piano and Winds. He has also made concerto appearances with the Queensland Symphony Orchestra of Australia under the baton of Mr. Marco Zuccarini, Auckland Philharmonic Orchestra, Auckland Symphony Orchestra, Auckland Youth Orchestra, Christchurch Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Sir. William Southgate and Bach Musica. He has given recitals in New York City, Auckland, Wellington, Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane and Aspen.

He has performed in the master classes for Claude Frank, John O’Conor, Joan Havill, Piers Lane, John Perry, Noriko Ogawa, Christopher Hinterhuber, Marcella Crudeli, Natasha Vlassenko, Oleg Stepanov, Guillermo Gonzalez, Bryan Sayer, Michael Houston, Tamas Vesmas, Ian Munro, Judith Clark, Read Gainsford and Stephen de Pledge.