LECT proudly announces...

Emerging Artists Series 2013

  - WINNER - 



Sylvia wins a cash prize of $1,000 and the opportunity to travel to Sydney to perform next year.

CD recordings simply numbered one to six (one CD for each recital) were couriered to the University of Otago in Dunedin for Professor Terence Dennis, Head of the School of Music, to adjudicate.

Professor Dennis remarks on the winning performance…

The candidate presented a very wide-ranging and challenging programme, and the performance displayed a sophisticated and consistent musical response throughout, with superb technical control, and a most impressive understanding of artistic nuance and subtlety of pianism.

 And adds:

Congratulations to all the pianists for their highly impressive recitals, all were testaments to immense preparation and represent significant achievements. 

Our congratulations to all performers.  Thank you for participating in the Series.  We hope you gained valuable experience to support your musical career. 

Many thanks to Professor Dennis for providing his time, care and expert opinion.  Thanks to the Schools of Music throughout New Zealand who forward nominations of their most promising students and many thanks to our appreciative Concert Club audience who keep coming back for recitals presented by these talented young musicians.

Finally, thanks to our loyal sponsors who offer the Lewis Eady Charitable Trust vital support.  We recognise them here and encourage you to support them when you can.

Dawsons   .   Cloudy Bay Vineyards Ltd   .   Spikemail

The first EAS concert for 2014 will be on Wednesday 9 April. 

Details will be on the website in February.  Visit www.lect.co.nz


LECT Emerging Artists Series Winners
2012 Matt Steele (jazz) of Auckland . 2011 Lucy Zeng of Auckland . 2010 Anna Maksymova of Canterbury
2009 Jason Bae of Auckland . 2008 Tony Lin of Christchurch